Understanding Spinal Cord Injury Types and Their Severity

A spinal cord injury falls into one of two levels of severity: complete and incomplete.

The four areas of the spine that can sustain injury are cervical, thoracic, lumbar, or sacral.

The severity of spinal cord injuries depends on what type of injury you have sustained and to what part of the spine. However, no matter what type of spinal cord injury you sustain, you will need an experienced personal injury lawyer on your side to ensure you receive the compensation necessary to recover to the best of your abilities.

Spinal Cord Injury Consequences
Both complete and incomplete spinal cord injuries impact sensation and function below the area where the injury occurred. With complete spinal cord injuries, neither will ever be restored.
Injuries to the spinal cord may result in:

• Quadriplegia or paraplegia
• Difficulties breathing
• Digestive issues
• Loss of bowel and bladder function
• Loss of sexual function

Because the nerves that travel up the spine are responsible for all of your bodily functions, injuries that interrupt their signals will result in a loss of abilities. If you are facing the devastating consequences of a spinal cord injury, one of our attorneys can fight to get you the compensation you deserve.

If you have sustained a spinal cord injury in the Bloomfield, Bridgeport, Danbury, East Haven, Georgetown, Hamden, New Fairfield, Newtown, Ridgefield, or Stamford areas of Connecticut, please contact Hastings, Cohan & Walsh, LLP to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our personal injury attorneys today.