You have been involved in some type of an accident in Connecticut and you have been injured. You were taken by ambulance to the hospital, you were examined and provided with discharge instructions and you were told to follow up with an orthopedic doctor or some other specialist. You go home, you are in great pain, you are still in shock from the events of the accident, you will be out of work for some period of time, perhaps your motor vehicle has been severely damaged or destroyed, you are anxious, upset and don't know what to do.
So when is the exact time that you should contact the personal injury lawyer after you have been involved in an accident Connecticut?
The easy answer is as soon as possible. It is very important that you understand that the insurance company of the party that caused your accident has a team of professionals working to pay you the least amount of money possible for your injuries and damages. You will get a call from an insurance adjuster working for the person who caused your accident. You may be told how sorry the company is to hear about your injuries, you will be assured that the adjuster is there to help you and wants to make sure that your medical bills and lost wages are paid and that your car will be repaired. You begin to feel a sense of relief because things will be moving in the right direction, your car will be repaired or replaced, your medical bills will be paid for, and your lost income will be paid to you - or so you think!
The insurance adjuster will advise you that in order to start processing your claim it will be necessary for you to provide a recorded statement. The adjuster will tell you that they need to find out what happened in the accident, what type of medical care and treatment you received, what pre-existing injuries or conditions you suffered prior to the accident, what lost wages you suffered, where your car is located so they can look at it, and many other questions will be asked of you. This all seems quite reasonable and you would think that there is no reason why you should not provide this information to the insurance adjuster because you want to start the process of getting compensated for all of your damages.
Do Not Give a Recorded Statement
You should never give a recorded statement to the insurance company. The reason insurance company wants to take a recorded statement from you is to find out ways that they can pay you less money for your case. You might be asked how fast you were traveling at the time of your accident. If the speed limit is 25 mph and you indicate that you are traveling at 30 mph then the insurance company might take the position that you were speeding. You might be asked why you did not take any evasive action to avoid the accident.
In other words, the insurance company will want to show that you are partially responsible for the injuries and damages that you sustain in your accident. The insurance company would also want you to say that you are fine, or you are not that badly injured, or that things could have been worse. These statements will be used against you to show that you were not really injured in the accident or that your injuries are not what you claim them to be as a result of the accident.
Get in Touch With an Injury Attorney to Protect Your Right to Compensation
It is vitally important that you contact an experienced Connecticut personal injury lawyer at the earliest possible moment. You should contact Connecticut accident attorney before you speak with anyone regarding your case. There are things that you should be doing and there are also things that you should not be doing so you can help to maximize the value of your Connecticut accident case.
If you wait too long before contacting a Connecticut accident lawyer some of the opportunities to protect yourself might have vanished. For example, it would be helpful for you to take as many pictures as possible of the accident site to show the location of the cars, the point of impact, the topography of the roadway, any defects that might have existed that could have contributed to the accident, and any and all other information that might help your Connecticut accident lawyer in developing your case.
Why Choose Hastings, Cohan & Walsh, LLP
Our Connecticut accident and injury lawyers provide free books, free consultations, and take accident and injury cases on a contingency fee basis. Our firm is only paid if we collect money damages for you. We also advanced the costs to develop your case so you do not have to come up with any money out of pocket.
If we do not recover any money damages for you, then you will not have to repay the costs either. In other words, we take all of the financial risk so you can concentrate on what's most important which is getting better. You do not need one penny to hire our firm to represent you.
Please call our toll-free number at 888-244-5480 and either speak with one of our Connecticut accident lawyers on the phone or schedule a free consultation. We will be happy to review the facts of your case with you and specifically advise you as to what you should be doing.